My name is Meg. I have lived in Georgia all my life. I am a child of divorce, but that story isn’t a negative one. I have a younger sister. My mother is German and my father is American. Since their divorce, both of my parents have gotten remarried to other people.

I’ve always been quite introverted and I’m okay with that. I don’t enjoy large crowds or areas where an exit is not easily found. I enjoy an early bedtime and I’m an early riser as well.

I was diagnosed with Generalized Anxiety Disorder about a decade ago. I was officially diagnosed with Panic Disorder in early 2019, but I knew I had it well before then. I did about 1 year of bi-monthly therapy after returning home from my service year with AmeriCorps NCCC. If you’re interested in how my service year went, you can read about it on this blog. I am currently back in therapy for my own good and it’s going well.

Anxiety and depression run in my family, so I’m not surprised at how things have unfolded for me. Honestly, though, it hasn’t kept me from doing much, and, I credit that to no one else but myself. My anxiety scares the shit out of me, but I push myself especially hard when it’s at its worst because falling into it is even more debilitating for me.

As you have seen from the name of my blog, I am, in fact, a lesbian. I came out to my family when I was in middle/high school. My mother and I had a casual discussion about it in middle school, but I didn’t tell my dad about it until high school. Looking at the big picture, as someone who grew up in the Bible Belt, my family did alright with the news. I didn’t get kicked out, I wasn’t shunned, etc.; however, it hurts to know that my wedding invitation is not displayed on refrigerators, that there are members of my family who do not acknowledge my romantic relationship, and that there are also those who continue to believe that their personal religious and political views should dictate how I live my private life.

So, what am I doing with my life right now? I live in Atlanta, GA with my fiancé. I graduated in May of 2021 with a BBA from Georgia State University after working on it for 6 years. I currently work full time as a recruiter, and, in my free time, I like to bake, play with dogs, and write. The truth is that I don’t know what I want to do with my life, and I’m figuring shit out daily.

I started this blog after running another blog for 2 years. I stopped writing on that platform for a while, but I’m back on it; that blog was initially for my family to virtually follow my adventures, but I’ve since slowed down.

I also wanted to have a place where I felt safe to be more vulnerable. Much of my family [that reads my other blog] is uncomfortable with my LGBTQ status and I wanted to create a place to connect with other people who go through similar issues concerning that, and, of course, anxiety. So this is that.

Thank you for visiting!